- A - M
- N - Z
- Live View
Applying for a Marriage License
Marriage license can be applied for at the Grand Fork County Office Building, 151 S. 4th St., Grand Forks, ND
Location: 1st Floor, Tax Equalization Department
Hours: 8:00 AM TO 4:30 PM
Phone: (70l) 780-8251
There is no blood test required and no waiting period. The license, once issued, is good for a period of 60 days. After the 60 days, it becomes void. Another license would have to be purchased.
Fee: $65.00 Cash only. No checks accepted. Fees apply to credit card use.
North Dakota law requires that both parties be present. Valid ID must be presented at that time. This may be a current and valid Drivers license, Certified Copy of Birth Certificate, Current and Valid U.S. or Foreign Passport, or Military ID.
If you are resident of Grand Forks County, you may purchase your license in Grand Forks County and use it in Grand Forks County or any county in North Dakota. If you live in another North Dakota county and plan to marry outside your county of residence, you may purchase your license in the county where you reside or the county in North Dakota where you plan to marry. If living outside North Dakota and planning on getting married in North Dakota, you must purchase your license in the county in which you plan to marry.
If Previously Married: State Law requires that we receive a certified copy of the Divorce Decree to keep with the Marriage License Application.
If Widowed: State Law requires that we receive a plain copy of the Death Certificate of the deceased spouse.
Age Requirements: 18 Years old and upwards. If a person is between sixteen and eighteen years of age, a marriage license may not be issued without the consent of the parents or guardian. This requires a notarized statement. (This form available in our office). A marriage license may not be issued to any person below the age of sixteen, notwithstanding the consent of the parents or guardian of said person. (This means that even with parental consent, we may not issue a license).
Certified Copies of the Marriage License Certificate can be obtained through this office after the marriage ceremony has taken place and the proper copies (ORIGINAL AND DUPLICATE A) of the license/certificate have been returned and filed with this office. The fee for a Certified Copy of the Marriage License/Certificate is: $10.00. If additional copies are requested of the same document at the same time, they are $5.00 each. (Example: 2 copies would be $15.00, 3 would be $20.00, etc.)
If a Certified Copy of that document is requested, the Certified copy fee would be charged also.